How to Make a Mutt Majestic

If you were to flip through the pictures on my cell phone a few months ago, you would automatically assume I am a cat lady. I am sure any stranger would assume I have a plastic wrapped floral couch and thick avocado carpet that smells like beef stroganoff and powdery fake rose scent. They would also think that I have long drawn out conversations with my cat and that I mumble to myself in grocery store aisles.

(Only one of those things is true and I am not telling which one.)

When Jesse moved in, that all changed. Sort of. Well, really the animal photos just doubled. It just so happens that whenever Jesse or Noodle (my sweet old lady cat) is doing anything cute or funny, the only thing I have to document it is my phone. (Don’t mind that I think they are cute just standing around therefore have a lot of pictures of that…)

I was told Jesse likes baths, but this suggests otherwise.

When I snapped the picture below of Jesse the other day, I was inspired by some of my favorite bloggers to make a little token of gratitude for Jesse’s dad. Crayons just weren’t cutting it. I wanted to do something cool, artsy and something that would be considered acceptable man decor.

Lately I’ve been totally digging the resurgence of silhouettes. A snazzy side shot, silhouettes are always a classy addition to any decor. Luckily, the picture below served as just the right profile that would be an easy enough transformation from grainy cell phone snap shot, to luxe and classy art.

Luxe and classy are loose terms… Jesse still eats poop sometimes.

Anyone can recreate similar art according to the Young House Love tutorial or my following these simple steps:

1. Snap a picture of your subject against a bright background. I made sure Jesse was looking alert and had his ears perked just so by saying, “Squirrels!” If you are doing this with a human, I’m not sure you would get the same response.

2. Open the picture in Adobe Photoshop, adjust the contrast so that the subject stands out against the background.

3. Fill in light spots with dark paint and dark spots with white paint to help distinguish the profile.

4. Using the Magnetic Lasso tool, trace the subject.

5. Fill in the selection with black (or any color you want) and copy the selection.

6. Open a new canvas and paste the image into the blank canvas. Touch up rough lines and create a clean line along the neck.

7. Ta Da!

 

Stay tuned to see how it all comes together!

4 Responses to “How to Make a Mutt Majestic”

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out! I’m diggin your blog!!

    I’ve been meaning to dedicate a post to using silhouettes to decorate, and will totally link to your post when it’s up. Instructions are great, and well… love the dog :)

    Best of luck to you!
    Jenny
    housefullofpretty.com

  2. You have talent running out your ears, girl! Great post!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

