Stuff Solution

I am a fake and a total phony. I wasn’t always this way. No… a few short months ago I was just “me” and now I am a big faker. Everyday I pretend to be a real-life, living and breathing grown-up. Let me tell you what… It is killing me. Before landing a spot in the Real World (not to be confused with the television show that more accurately depicted my previous life) I would wake up and… Wait. Some days, the most taxing thing I would do would be getting up.

But nowadays, I have to pretend that getting up, getting dressed and not hanging out in a t-shirt and undies all day comes natural to me. To be at work at 8:00 am I roll out of bed at 7:00. (Okay, fine. 7:20. And that is after hitting my snooze and resetting my alarm because for some reason I thought I might actually get up and exercise, or at the very least, shower.) In order to give the illusion of a fully functioning adult, I have determined that I need some stuff.

Stuff is the cure-all for any problem. Messy room? Head to target for some organizational stuff! Flabby abs? New spandexy workout stuff. Unsightly blemishes? Stuff! Stuff! Stuff! The problem, however, with all this stuff is this: Stuff won’t solve any problems if you don’t use it correctly. Sure, shove an organizational tub in the corner you have a handy new place to hold a pile of clean unfolded laundry. Three pound free weights make great door stops. Three bottles of Proactiv next to my bathroom faucet are just squatty plastic statues that remind me that (just like me) Katy Perry, Julianne Hough and Jessica Simpson all have breakouts from time to time. So, what is my solution to these unused solutions? One more thing.

(By the way, a “thing” is a the singular term for an item of  “stuff”)

When I was in high school, I tutored children from a nearby homeless shelter after schools. Together, we would work through work sheets. And by together, I mean I completed most of the worksheets with my left hand to make it look like the kids did it. What can I say? I wasn’t cut out for elementary education. (Or any job really for that matter…) I actually enjoyed doing the worksheets, though. Tracing over dashed letters of the alphabet and matching nouns to adjectives really suited me. I suppose that is where the inspiration for this poster came from.

It is easy enough. Fill in four goals you would like to complete each day and color in the corresponding circles each day. The goal is to have a poster covered in ink, rather than empty like this one is now.

Feel free to click and download the link below and join me in 12 weeks of goal dominating. Because you’ll never know how much you can do until you get up off your ass and do it. (But don’t hold me to that… I am starting over on Monday.)

Goal Stuff

(Wrote this on Friday… Not sure the Starbucks and Pumpkin Bread count as healthy…)

6 Responses to “Stuff Solution”

  1. Ooh I like this design! Filling in the circles would be so motivating! Thanks for sharing, I’ll be linking.

  2. This post made me laugh because I totally relate to everything you said. I was especially amused and simultaneously embarrassed to read the part about the organiser full of unfolded laundry as I am looking at one of those right now on the window seat in my lounge room. Perhaps I should download this chart, but I’d have to put fill out this chart as my first thing!

    • I know, right? Just another thing to do! I posted mine where I brush my teeth at night and it is the last thing I do before bed.

      Oh… And my clean laundry hasn’t even made it to the basket… Its piled on the couch. Come to think of it my dirty laundry isn’t even in the basket either. Thats on the floor. Oops!

  3. I told the big giant moon the other night that I was going to exercise 5 days a week. I’m wondering if I have four days left this week! Thanks so much for the goal sheet and for the musings 🙂 found you through One Pretty Thing.

    Kristin – The Goat

    • I’ve told the New Years baby, the Mr. Lenten Promis and now the moon (per your suggestion) a lot of things about staying away from Milky Ways and the treadmill… I hope they hold me to it! Keep reading… I am working on some more goal sheets!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

